The Music Man

Performance Dates
April-May 2019

April 25,26,26, May 2,3,4 at 8:00pm
April 27,28, May 4 at 2:00pm

All performances at Victoria Hall, Cobourg.


- $27.00
- $24.50 for groups of 10 or more
- Plus ticket service fee.


Meredith Wilson’s “The Music Man”
Book, Music and Lyrics by Meredith Wilson
Story by Meredith Wilson and Franklin Lacey

There’s trouble in River City when a fast talking salesman gets his heart stolen by the town librarian. By turns wicked, funny, romantic and touching, The Music Man is family entertainment at its best. Meredith Wilson’s six-time, Tony Award winning musical comedy has been entertaining audiences since 1957 and is a family-friendly story to be shared with every generation. The Music Man follows fast-talking travelling salesman, Harold Hill, as he cons the people of River City, Iowa, into buying instruments and uniforms for a boy’s band that he vows to organize – this despite the fact that he doesn’t know a trombone from a treble clef. His plans to skip town with the cash are foiled when he falls for Marion, the librarian, who transforms him into a respectable citizen by curtain’s fall. One of musical theatre’s treasures with rousing marches, barbershop quartets and sentimental ballads which have become popular standards.

The Music Man is presented through special arrangement with Music Theatre International (MTI). All authorized performance materials are also supplied by MTI.
This is a non-equity production.

Production Team

Producer Liz Clark
Artistic Director Marlena Sculthorpe
Vocal Director Angela Main
Orchestra Director Jill Baker
Barbershop Vocal Director Hugh Stewart
Rehearsal Pianist Sonya Guingona
Stage Manager Kelsey Desbarbieux
Set Design Marlena Sculthorpe & Joel Varty
Light & Sound Design Bob Clark
Set Construction Chief Alan Fletcher
Sponsorship Florence Fletcher
Projection Design Marc Mireault